skip navigation
Photo of Amador County Sheriff Personel

The Amador County Sheriff's Office is commited to providing equal access to employment, programs, services, and activities to persons with disabilities and fully complies with the American with Disabilities Act and California law. For more information click here

 

Concealed Weapons Permits

The Amador County Sheriff-Coroner Department is dedicated to providing the residents of Amador County with relevant and timely information regarding the services the department offers. The Amador County Sheriff’s Office currently has over 600 issued Concealed Weapons (CCW) permits.

This site is designed to give general information as well as specific requirements regarding applying for a carry concealed weapon (CCW) license from the Amador County Sheriff's Office for those citizens residing within the Sheriff's jurisdiction.

Citizens residing in the cities of Ione, Jackson, and Sutter Creek need to apply for their CCW permits through their respective Chief of Police.  

The Amador County Sheriff's Office does not recommend individual concealed weapon (CCW) instruction vendor(s). It is the responsibility of each applicant to research and evaluate prospective vendor(s) to determine their suitability.

The Amador County Sheriff's Office approved vendor(s) list only consists of individuals and entities who have met the minimum statutory requirements for firearms training and agree to instruct the minimum concealed weapons course training content pursuant to Penal Code Section 26165. The Amador County Sheriff's Office does not endorse the training styles, methodologies, facilities or techniques used to meet the minimum course requirements by each vendor.

Vendor opinions, advice, statements, services, offers, or other information expressed are not those of the Amador County Sheriff's Office, but are those of the respective vendor(s).

Any compliments or complaints about the CCW vendor course curriculum, conduct, methodologies or other content should be directed to the Amador County Sheriff's Office at 700 Court Street, Jackson, California or 209-223-6500.

 

CCW License Policy (PDF)

CCW Application (PDF)

Approved CCW Vendors List (PDF)

Concealed Weapons Permit Course Outline-8 hour (PDF)

Concealed Weapons Permit Renewel Course Outline-4 hour (PDF)

CCW Requirements

Initial Application Process

Renewal Process

CCW Modifications

Terms of License

Applicable Weapon Laws

FAQ's


CCW REQUIREMENTS

California law requires concealed weapon license applicants to satisfy specific criteria prior to being considered for issuance of a license. The requirements are as follows:

  • Residency: All applicants must provide proof that they are a resident of the County of Amador. Non-residents will be referred to the appropriate licensing agency. 
  • Training: The applicant must complete and show proof of successful completion from an Amador County Sheriff’s Office approved Concealed Carry Course containing modules on safety, the law, and the applicant’s ability to handle a firearm safely. The course shall be a minimum 8 hours for the initial application, and 4 hours for renewals.
  • ***EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012- Proof of successful completion of a training course will only be required after a determination of good cause for issuance of the permit has been made.***
  • Good Character: Applicants must attest to good character with respect to their ability to responsibly and safely carry and use a concealed weapon. 
  • Good Cause: Applicants must establish that good cause exists to support a request for a license to carry a concealed weapon. When establishing that good cause exists, applicants must provide specific, detailed, and articulable facts that support their request.  Criteria that may establish good cause include the following:
    • Specific evidence that there has been or is likely to be an attempt on the part of a second party to do great bodily harm to the applicant.
    • The nature of the business or occupation of the applicant is such that it is subject to high personal risk and/or criminal attack, far greater risk than the general population.
    • A task of the business or occupation of the applicant requires frequent transportation of large sums of money or other valuables and alternative protective measures or security cannot be employed.
    • When a business or occupation is of a high-risk nature and requires the applicant’s presence in a dangerous environment.
    • The occupation or business of the applicant is such that no means of protection, security or risk avoidance can mitigate the risk other than the carrying of a concealed firearm.
    • Personal protection is warranted to mitigate a threat to the applicant that the applicant is able to substantiate. 

Note: These examples are not intended to be all-inclusive, they are provided merely for your reference.  Failure to fully and completely articulate good cause may be grounds for a denial of your application, or a request for further information. 

State and local laws do not prohibit an adult from having a concealed weapon in their home or place of business.

*** DISCLAIMER ***

No resident has the right to a license, nor is the Sheriff required to issue a license. By law, the Sheriff has the discretion to approve or deny CCW license applications as well as revoke licenses that have already been issued. 


INITIAL APPLICATION PROCESS

FEES- $110.00 ($95.00 to California Department of Justice and $15.00 to the Amador County Sheriff's Office)

In order to apply for a CCW, you must:

  • Be a full-time resident of Amador County
  • Be at least 21 years of age
  • Fully complete an application that will include substantial personal information.  Much of the information in the application may be subject to public access under the Public Records Act.
  • Be free of criminal convictions that would qualify the applicant from carrying a concealed weapon.  Fingerprints will be required and a complete criminal background check will be conducted.
  • Be of good moral character and demonstrate sound judgement.
  • Show good cause for issuance of the license.
  • Pay all associated application fees.  These fees are set by statute and will not be refunded if the application is denied.
  • Provide proof of ownership or registration of any weapon to be licensed for concealment.
  • Be free of any medical and psychological conditions that might make the applicant unsuitable for carrying a concealed weapon.
  • Complete a Departmentally approved Firearms Safety Course.  You must show proof of completion of a Firearms Safety Course and qualification will all weapons that you intend to place on the CCW.
  • ***EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012- Proof of successful completion of a training course will only be required after a determination of good cause for issuance of the permit has been made.***
       

Applications for a Concealed Weapons Permit are available at the Amador County Sheriff’s Office. Once the application is filled out completely (except for witnessed signatures required on pages 3, 10 & 14) you will return it to the Amador County Sheriff’s Office at which time a clerk will witness your signatures and also sign the forms. At this time, you will need to provide a copy of your Firearms Safety Course certificate and proof of qualification will all weapons requested to be carried with the CCW.

Note: There is a section in the application that refers to Investigator’s Interview Notes.  While the Amador County Sheriff’s Office does not generally require an interview, applicants may be asked to submit to an interview on a case by case basis.  If you are not scheduled for an interview, you must complete this section on your own.   

After review of the application, you will be notified if your application has been approved or denied. At this time, you will be instructed on how to proceed with the process.

Cash or check only please.


CCW Application

Download the Application for CCW 


RENEWAL PROCESS

FEES- $57.00 ($52.00 to California Department of Justice and $5.00 to the Amador County Sheriff's Office)

If you currently have a CCW in Amador County, you are required to renew your permit every two years. When renewing your CCW, you will be required to first complete a 4 hour, updated Firearms Safety Course.  You will need to bring a copy of your completed course certificate and proof of qualification will all weapons requested to be carried with the CCW before your renewal can be processed. 

To renew your permit, come to the Amador County Sheriff’s Office during regular business hours, Monday – Thursday, 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. If your permit has been expired for more than one (1) year, you will be required to start the entire application process over. 

Cash or check only please. 


CCW MODIFICATIONS

FEES- None 

If you need to make any changes to your permit (i.e. new address, weapon, etc.) please come to the Amador County Sheriff’s Office Monday – Thursday, 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. to do a CCW Modification. If you are adding a new weapon to your permit, it is necessary for you to bring the weapon with you.  Before you can add any weapons to your permit, applicants will need to provide proof that they have completed the specified training and qualification with the weapon that they intend to add to the CCW.   

The weapon must have a gun lock on it before bringing it in to the Sheriff’s Office lobby. You may request a free gun lock at the Sheriff’s Office during regular business hours. Keeping the information on your permit current at all times is advised. There is no cost for CCW Modifications. 


TERMS OF LICENSE ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

Terms Of the License: The license holder shall agree to abide by the following terms for carrying a concealed weapon. Failure to do so shall result in the immediate suspension of the CCW license.

  1. The license will not be valid outside the state of California.  However, some states will recognize a California CCW or do not require a CCW.  You must check with the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction over the area(s) you intend to travel to determine if a CCW is necessary.
  2. The license will be subject to any and all reasonable restrictions or conditions the Sheriff has deemed warranted, including restrictions as to the time, place, manner and circumstances under which the person may carry the concealed firearm.
    (A) All such restrictions or conditions shall be conspicuously noted on any license issued (Penal Code § 26200(b)).  
    (B) The licensee will be required to sign a Restrictions and Conditions Agreement. Any violation of any of the restrictions and conditions may result in the immediate  revocation of the license.
  3. The license shall bear the expiration date, type of weapon, restrictions and other pertinent information clearly visible. 
    (A) Each license shall be numbered and clearly identify the licensee. 
    (B) All licenses shall be subjected to inspection by the Sheriff or any law enforcement officer.
  4. The license will be valid for a period not to exceed two years from the date of issuance.
    (A) A license issued to state or federal magistrate, commissioner or judge will be valid for a period not to exceed three years. 
    (B) A license issued to any reserve peace officer as defined in Penal Code §830.6(a) or (b), or a custodial officer employed by the Sheriff as provided in Penal Code § 831.5 will be valid for a period not to exceed four years, except that such license shall be invalid upon the individual’s conclusion of service as a reserve or custodial officer. 
  5. The licensee shall notify this department in writing within ten days of any change of place of residency. If the licensee moves out of the county of issuance, the license shall expire ninety (90) days after the licensee has moved. 

License Restrictions: The Sheriff may place special restrictions limiting time, place and circumstances under which any license shall be valid. In general, these restrictions will prohibit the licensee from any of the following:

  1. Consuming any alcoholic beverage while armed
  2. Falsely representing him or herself as a peace officer
  3. Unjustified or unreasonable displaying of a weapon
  4. Commission of any crime
  5. Being under the influence of alcohol, any medication or drug while armed 
  6. Interfering with any law enforcement officer’s duties 
  7. Refusing to display his/her license or weapon for inspection upon demand of any peace officer
  8. Carrying a firearm within any court house or court room, at the State Capitol or on any State Capitol grounds, in the secure area of an airport and any polling location.

The Sheriff reserves the right to inspect any license or licensed weapon at any time.


APPLICABLE WEAPONS LAWS

A CCW license applicant should be aware of the following California penal codes , as they related to the storage of a firearms. Note that laws pertaining to CCW’s and firearms in general are constantly changing so the below statutes should be checked to confirm they are contemporary.

I. Penal Code Section 26180(a) – Applications for CCW Licenses; False Statements

(b) Any person who files an application required by subdivision (a) knowing that the statements contained therein are false is guilty of a misdemeanor.

(c) Any person who knowingly makes a false statement on the application regarding any of the following shall be guilty of a felony:

1. The denial or revocation of a license, or the denial of an amendment to a license, issued pursuant to section 26150.

2. A criminal conviction.

3. A finding of not guilty by reason of insanity.

4. The use of a controlled substance.

5. A dishonorable discharge from military service.

6. A commitment to a mental institution.

7. A renunciation of United States citizenship.

II. Penal Code Section 25105 – Storage of Firearms Accessible to Children

(a) As used in this section, the following definitions apply:

(1) "Locking device" means a device that is designed to prevent the firearm from functioning and when applied to the firearm, renders the firearm inoperable.

(2) "Loaded firearm" has the same meaning as set forth in Section 16840(b).

(3) "Child" means a person under 18 years of age.

(4) "Great bodily injury" has the same meaning as set forth in Section 12022.7.

(5) "Locked container" has the same meaning as set forth in Section 16850.

(b) (1) Except as provided in subdivision (c), a person commits the crime of "criminal storage of a firearm of the first degree" if he or she keeps any loaded firearm within any premises that are under his or her custody or control and he or she knows or reasonably should know that a child is likely to gain access to the firearm without the permission of the child's parent or legal guardian and the child obtains access to the firearm and thereby causes death or great bodily injury to himself, herself, or any other person.

(2) Except as provided in subdivision (c), a person commits the crime of "criminal storage of a firearm of the second degree" if he or she keeps any loaded firearm within any premises that are under his or her custody or control and he or she knows or reasonably should know that a child is likely to gain access to the firearm without the permission of the child's parent or legal guardian and the child obtains access to the firearm and thereby causes injury, other than great bodily injury, to himself, herself, or any other person, or carries the firearm either to a public place or in violation of Section 417.

(c) Subdivision (b) shall not apply whenever any of the following occurs:

(1) The child obtains the firearm as a result of an illegal entry to any premises by any person.

(2) The firearm is kept in a locked container or in a location that a reasonable person would believe to be secure.

(3) The firearm is carried on the person or within such a close proximity thereto that the individual can readily retrieve and use the firearm as if carried on the person.

(4) The firearm is locked with a locking device that has rendered the firearm inoperable.

(5) The person is a peace officer or a member of the armed forces or National Guard and the child obtains the firearm during, or incidental to, the performance of the person's duties.

(6) The child obtains, or obtains and discharges, the firearm in a lawful act of self-defense or defense of another person, or persons.

(7) The person who keeps a loaded firearm on any premise that is under his or her custody or control has no reasonable expectation, based on objective facts and circumstances, that a child is likely to be present on the premises.

III. Penal Code Section 25200 – Firearms Accessed by Children and Carried Off-premises

(a) As used in this section, the following definitions shall apply:

(1) "Locking device" means a device that is designed to prevent the firearm from functioning and when applied to the firearm, renders the firearm inoperable.

(2) "Child" means a person under the age of 18 years.

(3) "Off-premises" means premises other than the premises where the firearm was stored.

(4) "Locked container" has the same meaning as set forth in Section 16850.

(b) A person who keeps a pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person, loaded or unloaded, within any premises that are under his or her custody or control and he or she knows or reasonably should know that a child is likely to gain access to that firearm without the permission of the child's parent or legal guardian and the child obtains access to that firearm and thereafter carries that firearm off-premises, shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year, by a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both that imprisonment and fine.

(c) A person who keeps any firearm within any premises that is under his or her custody or control and he or she knows or reasonably should know that a child is likely to gain access to the firearm without the permission of the child's parent or legal guardian and the child obtains access to the firearm and thereafter carries that firearm off-premises to any public or private preschool, elementary school, middle school, high school, or to any school-sponsored event, activity, or performance whether occurring on school grounds or elsewhere, shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year, by a fine not exceeding five thousand dollars ($5,000), or by both that imprisonment and fine.

(d) A pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person that a child gains access to and carries off-premises in violation of this section shall be deemed "used in the commission of any misdemeanor as provided in this code or any felony" for the purpose of Section 29300 regarding the authority to confiscate firearms and other deadly weapons as a nuisance.

(e) This section shall not apply if any one of the following circumstances exists:

(1) The child obtains the pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person as a result of an illegal entry into any premises by any person.

(2) The pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person is kept in a locked container or in a location that a reasonable person would believe to be secure.

(3) The pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person is locked with a locking device that has rendered the firearm inoperable.

(4) The pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon a person is carried on the person within such a close range that the individual can readily retrieve and use the firearm as if carried on the person.

(5) The person is a peace officer or a member of the Armed Forces or National Guard and the child obtains the pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person during, or incidental to, the performance of the person's duties.

(6) The child obtains, or obtains and discharges, the pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person in a lawful act of self-defense or defense of another person or persons.

(7) The person who keeps a pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person has no reasonable expectation, based on objective facts and circumstances, that a child is likely to be present on the premises.


FAQs

Question: How will I know if my particular circumstances will allow me to obtain a CCW license?

Answer: Each CCW application is unique and is evaluated on its own merits. Individual circumstances play a large role in determining the necessity of issuing a CCW license. This decision is ultimately made by the Sheriff’s Office administration.

Question: How long is a CCW license good for?

Answer: A license is in effect for a period of two, three or four years before it is either void or renewed. For exceptions, contact the Amador County Sheriff's Office at 209-223-6500.

Question: Is renewing a CCW license automatically done?

Answer: No. A person wishing to renew a current CCW license must reapply with the Amador County Sheriff's Office.

Question: What documentation do I need to bring with me when I turn in my completed application?

Answer: An applicant needs to provide a state driver’s license or ID card, or government issued ID card. In addition, applicants will need to provide proof of completion of a Departmentally approved Firearms Safety Course (8-hour for initial applicants and 4-hour for renewal) as well as proof of qualification with all firearms that are intended to be added to the CCW.   Proof of successful completion of a training course will only be required after a determination of good cause for issuance of the permit has been made.

An individual applicant’s particular situation might necessitate additional documentation depending upon his or her circumstances. The Sheriff’s Office will inform the applicant which additional documents (if any) will be needed after interviewing the applicant. At a minimum, additional documents may include a birth certificate or other proof of lawful alien residency in the U.S., utility bills, military discharge form (DD 214) if applicable.

Question: I already have a CCW from another state. Do I need to reapply for another one since moving to Amador County?

Answer: Yes. Your CCW is not valid in the state of California.

Question: How old do I have to be before I can apply for a CCW license.


Answer: An applicant must be at least 21 years old before applying for a CCW license from the Amador County Sheriff's Office.

Question: Can I carry a concealed firearm out of state?

Answer: No. Normally, a CCW License issued by the Amador County Sheriff's Office is not valid outside the state of California. However, some states will recognize a California CCW or do not require a CCW. You must check with the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction over the area(s) you intend to travel to determine if a CCW is necessary.

 

 

If you have a disability and the format of any material on our website interferes with your ability to access some information contained on our site, please email the County of Amador webmaster at: [email protected] The webmaster will refer your request to the appropriate Department or program for assistance. To enable us to respond in a manner that will be of most help to you. Please indicate the nature of the accessibility need, your preferred format (electronic format, large print, etc.) the web address of the requested material, and your full contact information so we can reach you if questions arise while fulfilling your request.

© Copyright 2014 Amador County Sheriff’s Department, All Rights Reserved.